General Information to Students
General University Regulations
Information to New Students
College Prospectus

Welcome to the College of Natural and applied Sciences

The College of Natural and Applied Sciences was inaugurated in April, 2009, as a result of the implementation of the new University organisational structure. The College is the result of a merger of the former Faculty of Science (FoS) and the former Faculty of Aquatic Sciences and Technology (FAST). The Faculty of Science was established in 1965 and was among the oldest Faculties at the University of Dar es Salaam. A relatively new Faculty, FAST was born in August 2002.

The College of Natural and Applied Sciences comprises eight Departments: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries, Botany, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Physics, Zoology and WildLife Conservation and Molecular Biology and Biotechnology. The College has centralised facilities, which include the Central Science Workshop and the Electron Microscope Unit.

The College offers three-year undergraduate programmes, four-year undergraduate programmes, two-year diploma programmes and a one-year certificate programme

Research and Publications
Ph.D. Programme in Environmental Sciences